Users Online

We have 44 guests online
How to delete a user profile in Windows Server 2003 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Zack MIlls   
Tuesday, 09 March 2010 16:58

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/814584

 

This step-by-step article describes how to delete a user profile from a local computer. If you use the method presented in this article, you delete the SystemDrive\Documents and Settings\Username folder that contains the user's My Documents folder, desktop settings, Startmenu, Favorites, and cookies. This method also deletes the profile from the ProfileList key in the registry.

This procedure does not remove a user's ability to log back on to the same computer. When a user logs back in, Windows creates a new SystemDrive\Documents and Settings\Usernamefolder, but does not re-create the user's previous documents, desktop settings, Start menu, Favorites, and cookies. 


Requirements

You must have administrator permissions to delete a user profile.


How to Delete a User Profile

To delete a user profile, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
  2. In the System Properties dialog box, click the Advanced tab.
  3. Under User Profiles, click Settings.
  4. Click the user profile that you want to delete, and then click Delete.